About NLNAC

The National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC) is responsible for the specialized accreditation of nursing education programs (Clinical Doctorate, Masterís, Baccalaureate, Associate, Diploma, and Practical programs).  The Commission has authority and accountability for carrying out the responsibilities inherent in the application of standards and criteria, accreditation processes, and the affairs, management, policy-making, and general administration of the NLNAC.  The NLNAC is nationally recognized as a specialized accrediting agency for both post-secondary and higher degree programs in nursing education. 

NLNAC accredits all  types of post-secondary and higher degree education nursing programs.

PROGRAM TYPE

NLNAC-ACCREDITED PROGRAMS*

Clinical Doctorate 7
Master's 95
Baccalaureate 223
Associate 691
Diploma 47
Practical 167

NLNAC Staff

National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission, Inc.
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850
Atlanta, Georgia  30326

Phone: 404.975.5000
Fax: 404.975.5020

Sharon J. Tanner, EdD, RN
Chief Executive Officer

Email: sjtanner@nlnac.org

PROFESSIONAL STAFF

Nell Ard, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF
Associate Director

Email: nard@nlnac.org

Abigail Gerding, PhD, RN
Associate Director

Email: agerding@nlnac.org

Cheryl Kish, EdD, RN, WHNP-BC
Professional Staff

Email: ckish@nlnac.org
Dr. Cordia Starling   
Cordia Starling, EdD, RN

Associate Director

Email: cstarling@nlnac.org
NLNAC ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Joe L. Ortiz, MBA
Director of Business Operations and Information Systems

Email: jortiz@nlnac.org

Patricia Barlow
Manager of Accreditation Services

Email: pbarlow@nlnac.org

Yovanka Heyburn


Yovanka Heyburn

Executive Assistant

Email: yheyburn@nlnac.org


Alex Mariquit
Director of Operations

Email: amariquit@nlnac.org

NLNAC SUPPORT STAFF
Jessica DermodyJessica Dermody
Operations Assistant  

Email: jdermody@nlnac.org

Carla Haynes

Carla Haynes
Operations Specialist

Email: chaynes@nlnac.org

 

Justin Jerome

Justin Jerome
Assistant to the Office of the CEO

Email: jjerome@nlnac.org

Katherine Little

Katherine Little
Administrative Assistant for Accreditation Services

Email: klittle@nlnac.org

Todd Oesterle

Todd Oesterle
Administrative Assistant for Accreditation Support

Email: toesterle@nlnac.org

Jocelyn Pineda

Jocelyn Pineda
Accounting Specialist

Email: jpineda@nlnac.org

Robert SteinbrueggeRobert Steinbruegge
Administrative Assistant to the Professional Staff

Email: rsteinbruegge@nlnac.org

Zaid ToukanZaid Toukan
Operations Analyst

Email: ztoukan@nlnac.org


Back


 

2012-2013 NLNAC Board of Commissioners
 
Nursing Education Representatives

  
Mary Lou Rusin

  

 
Mary Lou Rusin, EdD, RN, ANEF
(Term 2012-2015)
Chair, NLNAC
Professor and Chair, Nursing Department
Daemen College
Amhurst, New York

Nancy Phoenix Bittner
  


Nancy Phoenix Bittner, PhD, RN, CNS

(Term: 2012-2015)
Professor
School of Nursing, Science and Health Professions
Regis College
Weston, Massachusetts

Susan Baltrus
  

Susan C. Baltrus, MS, RNBC, CNE
(Term: 2011-2014)
President, Central Maine Medical Center
College of Nursing and Health Professions
Lewiston, Maine

Elizabeth Berry
  

Linda K. Cockrell, MSN, RN
(Term: 2011-2014)
Program Leader, Health and Medical Sciences
Central School of Practical Nursing
Norfolk Technical Vocational Center
Norfolk, Virginia

Kimberly Cribb
  

Kimberly K. Cribb, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term: 2011-2014)
Director of MSN Program
Thomas University
Thomasville, Georgia

Catherine McJannet  
  
Catherine McJannet, MN, RN, CEN
(Term 2011-2013)
Vice-Chair, NLNAC
Director of Nursing and Health Occupations Programs
Southwestern College
San Diego, California
Ann Schlumberger
  
Ann Bain, EdD, MSN, RN
(Term 2010-2013)
Secretary, NLNAC
Professor and Chairperson, Department of Nursing
University of Arkansas - Little Rock
Little Rock, Arkansas
Mary Stec
  
Mary Stec, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term 2010-2013)
Course Coordinator/Instructor, Dixon School of Nursing
Abington Memorial Hospital
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Peggy Tudor
  
Peggy Tudor, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term 2012-2015)
Department Chair, Associate Degree Nursing
Eastern Kentucky University
Richmond, Kentucky
Nursing Service Representatives
  
Christina DiMichele
  
  
Christina DiMichele, MSN, RN, NEA-BC
(Term 2011-2014)
Nurse Manager
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Janet Harris
   
Janet Y. Harris, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
(Term 2012-2013)
Chief Nursing Officer
The University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, Mississippi
Raquel Rasaron
  

Raquel Pasarón, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
(Term 2012-2015)
ARNP/Pediatric Surgery Liaison
Miami Children's Hospital
Miami, Florida

Public Representatives
  
Gary Carman
  
  
Gary Carman, PhD, LMSW
(Term 2012-2013)
President, Carman Consulting
South Windsor, Conecticut
David Ormstedt
  
David E. Ormstedt, JD
(Term 2010-2013)
Treasurer, NLNAC
Attorney/Consultant
Bloomington, Indiana
Howard Smith
  
Howard S. Smith, EdD
(Term 2012-2015)
Education Leadership Consultant
Harris Beach, PLLC
Buffalo, New York

  Back to Top