NLNAC is governed by fifteen members, called “Board of Commissioners” who are elected by the members of NLN at the NLN annual meeting.  The legal basis for the foundation and structure of the Commission is outlined in the Bylaws, and the Articles of Incorporation.NLNAC is incorporated under the laws of the state of New York.

  1. Nine Commissioners are nurse educators, representing NLNAC accredited programs and schools and shall be diversified insofar as possible.  Three Commissioners represent the public, and three Commissioners represent nursing service.
  2. Commissioners representing nursing service and the public are diversified and assure balanced representation from across identified constituencies insofar as possible.
  3. No Governor, officer, or employee of the National League for Nursing or employee of NLNAC may serve as a Commissioner. 

The Board of Commissioners sets accreditation policy, makes accreditation decisions, and decides corporate matters such as budget, planning, and administrative policy.

Commissioners serve as chairperson of the program specific evaluation review panels.  The final decision of accreditation status is based on review of program materials, peer reviewer reports and recommendations. 

The outside perspectives of Commissioners provide an objective appraisal of NLNAC business and evaluation activities.  The NLNAC also benefits from the members’ first-hand experience and broad range of contacts with nursing, higher education, health service delivery systems, and business, community, and other professional groups.

2012-2013 NLNAC Board of Commissioners
Nursing Education Representatives

Mary Lou Rusin


Mary Lou Rusin, EdD, RN

(Term 2012-2015)
Chair. NLNAC
Professor and Chair, Nursing Department
Daemen College
Amhurst, New York

Nancy Phoenix Bittner

Nancy Phoenix Bittner, PhD, RN, CNS

(Term: 2012-2015)
School of Nursing, Science and Health Professions
Regis College
Weston, Massachusetts

Susan Baltrus

Susan C. Baltrus, MS, RNBC, CNE
(Term: 2011-2014)
President, Central Maine Medical Center
College of Nursing and Health Professions
Lewiston, Maine

Elizabeth Berry

Linda K. Cockrell, MSN, RN
(Term: 2011-2014)
Program Leader, Health and Medical Sciences
Central School of Practical Nursing
Norfolk Technical Vocational Center
Norfolk, Virginia

Kimberly Cribb

Kimberly K. Cribb, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term: 2011-2014)
Director of MSN Program
Thomas University
Thomasville, Georgia

Catherine McJannet  
Catherine McJannet, MN, RN, CEN
(Term 2011-2013)
Vice-Chair, NLNAC
Director of Nursing and Health Occupations Programs
Southwestern College
San Diego, California
Ann Schlumberger
Ann Bain, EdD, MSN, RN
(Term 2010-2013)
Secretary, NLNAC
Professor and Chairperson, Department of Nursing
University of Arkansas - Little Rock
Little Rock, Arkansas
Mary Stec
Mary Stec, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term 2010-2013)
Course Coordinator/Instructor, Dixon School of Nursing
Abington Memorial Hospital
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Peggy Tudor
Peggy Tudor, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE
(Term 2012-2015)
Department Chair, Associate Degree Nursing
Eastern Kentucky University
Richmond, Kentucky
Nursing Service Representatives
Christina DiMichele
Christina DiMichele, MSN, RN, NEA-BC
(Term 2011-2014)
Nurse Manager
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Janet Harris
Janet Y. Harris, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
(Term 2012-2013)
Chief Nursing Officer
The University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, Mississippi
Raquel Rasaron

Raquel Pasarón, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
(Term 2012-2015)
ARNP/Pediatric Surgery Liaison
Miami Children's Hospital
Miami, Florida

Public Representatives
Gary Carman
Gary Carman, PhD, LMSW
(Term 2012-2013)
President, Carman Consulting
South Windsor, Conecticut
David Ormstedt
David E. Ormstedt, JD
(Term 2010-2013)
Bloomington, Indiana
Howard Smith
Howard S. Smith, EdD
(Term 2012-2015)
Education Leadership Consultant
Harris Beach, PLLC
Buffalo, New York